What is Vegan Food?

A vegan diet is based on plants such as vegetables, grains, nuts, fruits, and foods made from plants. Vegans do not eat foods that come from animals, including dairy products and eggs. Some popular vegan alternatives include tofu and tempeh which are excellent meat substitutes, milk alternatives like oat milk, cashew milk, and hazelnut milk, and substitutes for eggs, cheese, creams, and yogurt can all be consumed as part of a vegan diet. This article discusses some of the popular vegan alternatives that can be incorporated into diets.

Vegan Alternatives to Various Foods| Finserv MARKETS

12 Vegan Alternatives to Popular Foods

No Room Rent Capping | No Medical Check-up up to 55yrs | Tax Benefit up to 75k | Buy Health Insurance starting @ ₹244 pm

Vegan Diet

Over the past few years, the vegan diet has become a mainstream choice for millions of people around the world. A vegan diet is a form of diet where a person only consumes plant-based foods. No animal-based products such as meat, seafood, eggs or even dairy are allowed under a vegan diet. As a result, people who are on a vegan diet have limited diet choices and it can sometimes make it difficult for them. However, many vegan alternatives to popular foods have been introduced to the market lately.

Alternative Vegan Foods

As veganism has seen a rise in popularity, many companies have started introducing a plethora of vegan foods for people to choose from. These days, there are various vegan alternatives to popular foods such as vegan meat substitutes, vegan butter substitutes, plant-based milk, etc. In this article, we’ll take a look at some vegan alternatives that can be incorporated into diets.

1. Meat Alternatives

Many food companies have started introducing vegan meat that is similar to real meat but is made out of completely vegan products. This artificial meat can be hard to find but if you live in an urban area, you are likely to find these products in a supermarket or specialty shops that sell vegan products. Many restaurants in the urban areas also have meat alternatives on their menu. Moreover, vegan products like tofu and tempeh are excellent meat substitutes that provide you with the benefits of protein and can be used in your everyday diet to make curry or salads. Many mashed beans are used by vegans, too, as chicken alternatives. Furthermore, jackfruits can also be used as a replacement for traditional meats.

2. Milk Substitutes

As milk is a dairy product, it cannot be consumed on a vegan diet. Fortunately, a lot of vegan milk alternatives have become available in the market. Almond milk and soy milk are the most popular forms of vegan milk that are considered highly nutritious and can be found in almost any grocery shop. Other forms of vegan milk include oat milk, cashew milk, hazelnut milk, among others. However, these may not be as readily available as almond or soy milk. You can also make your own vegan milk by blending these nuts with water and straining the produce till you get the best results. Vegan milk can be used in your baking and cooking recipes as well.

3. Egg Substitutes

While egg substitutes are not as popular as meat substitutes, many supermarkets have started stocking powdered egg substitutes to add to your diet. Egg substitutes can also be found in online supermarkets for delivery or speciality vegan stores. You can also use flax seeds or chia seeds as a substitute for eggs in your cooking. Chickpea, which can be found in nearly every grocery around, is also a good alternative to eggs. While a few years ago vegans did not have so many options, these days you can find egg substitutes if you look hard enough.

4. Alternative Cheeses

It goes without saying that cheese is everyone’s favourite, and even vegetarians enjoy it. However, cheese is not allowed on a vegan diet. Fortunately, a lot of alternatives to cheese have been launched by food companies that can quell your cravings for the delicious milk product. For a long time, vegan cheeses were of poor quality and did not taste very good, but the recent cheese products launched by vegan companies are of higher quality and have good taste in comparison to regular cheese. These vegan cheeses are made out of ingredients such as coconut, aquafaba, nuts and vegetable oils. You can put use these alternative cheeses in salads, pasta and other dishes.

5. Alternative Creams and Yogurt

Cream and Yogurt are a major part of the Indian diet. As creams and yoghurts are made out of dairy, they are not an option for vegans. As a result, many varieties of vegan creams and yoghurts have been introduced in the markets. These plant-based creams and yoghurts are made out of coconuts, various nuts and other plant materials and are highly nutritious. Some brands that make these vegan creams and yoghurts also add probiotics and vitamins to enhance them. You can use these while cooking, for salads or as an extra to your meals.

To Conclude

Choosing to follow a vegan diet is a hard decision as you can no longer consume some of the major food groups but going vegan also has a positive impact on your health and the environment. However, just focusing on your diet and health is not enough. Infectious and life-threatening diseases can strike anyone at any time and are unpredictable. You should have a good health insurance policy that will protect you financially and take care of your medical costs in the case of medical emergencies. You can check out the excellent health insurance plans on Finserv MARKETS and choose one that best suits your needs. 

Health Insurance Plans Available at Finserv MARKETS

FAQs on Vegan Alternatives to Popular Foods

  • ✔️What can vegans eat instead of dairy?

    Many companies have introduced alternatives such as vegan milk, vegan cheeses and butter that vegans can consume instead of dairy.

  • ✔️ What is a good vegan substitute for chicken?

    Tofu and jackfruit serve as excellent substitutes for chicken.   

  • ✔️Is vegan cheese bad for you?

    Vegan cheese is made out of plant-based materials and is safe for people to consume.  

  • ✔️ Is mayonnaise vegan?

    No, one of the ingredients in mayonnaise is eggs, so it’s not vegan. However, there is a special vegan mayonnaise available in the market that you can buy. 

  • ✔️Are there any disadvantages of being vegan?

    The only disadvantage of a vegan diet is that you do not get certain micronutrients that are only available in meats, but this can be remedied through supplements.