What is Section 80U?


 Section 80U of the Income Tax Act of India, 1961 provides a tax deduction to individual taxpayers who are suffering from a disability. To claim a deduction under Section 80U, the individual should be certified as a person with a disability by the medical authority. For people with disabilities, a maximum tax deduction of up to ₹75,000 is allowed and for people with severe disabilities, the deduction limit is ₹1,25,000. Here is a look at the details about Section 80U income tax deduction.

Who Can Claim Deductions Under Section 80U?

Only an Indian resident individual who is a certified person with a disability by respective medical authorities becomes eligible for the tax benefits of Section 80U. According to the Persons with Disability (Equal Opportunities, Protection of Rights and Full Participation) Act, 1955 a person with a disability is someone who has at least 40% disability certified by the medical authority.

Section 80U also defines what a severe disability is. A condition where the disability is 80% or above classifies as a severe disability. It also includes multiple disabilities, autism and cerebral palsy. People with impairment of at least 40% in the below ailments are considered as disabled:


  • Blindness

  • Low vision

  • Mental retardation

  • Mental illness

  • Leprosy-cured

  • Hearing impairment

  • Locomotor disability

Documents Required to Claim Tax Benefits Under Section 80U

Apart from the certificate of disability by recognised medical authorities in Form 10-IA, no other documentation is required to claim the tax benefits available under Section 80U of the Income Tax Act of India, 1961. You do not have to submit any bills or details of treatment done to claim the tax deduction.


The certificate of disability should be submitted together with the Income Tax Returns according to Section 139 for the relevant AY. If the certificate has expired, you would still be able to claim the deduction in the year of the expiry date. However, you will need a fresh certificate from the next year to claim tax benefits under 80U.


  • ✔️What is the amount of deduction allowed under Section 80U?

     The maximum amount of deduction for people with disabilities is capped at ₹75,000. For people with severe disabilities, the maximum amount of deduction under Section 80U is ₹1,25,000.

  • ✔️What is the maximum deduction allowed under Section 80U for physically handicapped?

     The maximum amount of deduction depends on the disability of the individual. A person with a disability is eligible for a deduction up to ₹75,000 and those with severe disability can claim a deduction up to ₹1,25,000.

  • ✔️Is paralysis covered under 80U?

     Yes, paralysis is covered under Section 80U of the Income Tax Act of India, 1961.

  • ✔️Is 80U allowed in the new tax regime?

     Yes, tax deductions under Section 80U are still applicable in the new tax regime. People with disabilities can avail these deductions while filing their ITR.

Happy Customers of Finserv MARKETS

Getting a loan to take care of my wedding and relieving my parents to enjoy the occasion was the best decision I ever made. Easy-to-apply, amazing interest rate and quick disbursal, what more can one ask for!

I am passionate about the vehicle I drive and hence I wan't to protect it with the best available option. What amazed me about Bajaj Finserv Markets was full transparency, quick quotes and the attractive discount on the premium while choosing annual payment option!

Check your personal loan eligibility in seconds!

My husband and I will finally move into our own house this Diwali. All thanks to Bajaj Finserv – Markets, with competitive interest rates, minimal processing fees and easy to repay EMIs, our dream saw the light of reality in no time!

Get the best FD interest rates starting @ 8.40%. Let's start!

Kids grow up fast and to fulfill their dream trip to Disneyland I had everything but instant funds. With no collateral or guarantor required and a hassle-free processing, I gifted my family a memorable trip to Paris just at the click of a mouse!

Get sum insured up to 1 Crore! Let's start!

The best way to start looking for health insurance is not a 60 minute meeting with an insurance sales person but with a close study of my coverage needs and checking the insurance company's claim ratio. No unnecessary jargons, easy to apply claims process and choice of premiums, what else could I have asked for as a newbie!

Zero additional charge on part-payment option on Business loans! Let's start!

I bought my first iPhone using my Bajaj Finserv EMI Network Card. Zero downpayment, No cost EMI on Bajaj Finserv Markets EMI store and the smile on my dad's face just made my day!

Get home loan sanctioned online in 72 hours! Let's start!