No Room Rent Capping | No Medical Check-up up to 55yrs | Tax Benefit up to Rs. 75,000 | Buy Health Insurance starting @ ₹160 pm Check Plans

The National Health Insurance Scheme in India (NHIS 2016) is a set of initiatives to ensure that the poorer sections of the society gain access to adequate and affordable healthcare facilities. The government of India also set up the National Health Portal, which provides access to information related to the various NHIS schemes available to Indian citizens. 


Under this parent scheme, the government has launched many other initiatives such as the Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana (AABY), Ayushman Bharat Health insurance - National Health Protection Mission, the Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS), the Employees State Insurance Scheme (ESIS), the Janashree Bima Yojana, the Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (RSBY) and the Universal Health Insurance Scheme (UHIS).

Introducing National Health Insurance Scheme in India (NHIS 2016)

  • Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana (AABY)

    The Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana, or AABY scheme, is a social security scheme that was launched on October 2, 2007, for rural and landless households. Under this scheme, The Life Insurance Corporation of India (LIC) provides insurance cover to one earning member of the household between the age of 18 to 59 years. This insurance cover provides compensation of ₹30,000 in case of natural death, ₹75,000 in case of accidental death or permanent total disability and ₹37,500 in case of permanent partial disability.

  • Ayushman Bharat Health insurance - National Health Protection Mission

    The Ayushman Bharat Health Insurance is a national health protection scheme that aims to cover more than 10 Crore poor families. Under this scheme, each eligible family will be provided with health insurance coverage of up to ₹5 Lakh per year for hospitalisation. The eligible citizens can avail the benefits of this scheme at any empanelled hospital.

  • Central Government Health Scheme (CGHS)

    Started in 1954 by the Central Government, the CGHS scheme is designed to provide the Central Government employees and their dependents with comprehensive healthcare facilities. This scheme is applicable only in certain cities that are covered under CGHS.

  • Employees State Insurance Scheme (ESIS)

    ESIS is an insurance scheme that is designed to provide socio-economic protection to workers and their dependents. Under this scheme, the beneficiaries are provided with a medical cover along with cash benefits in case of any medical emergency, temporary or permanent disabilities, occupational injury or death, etc.

  •  Janashree Bima Yojana

    Launched in the year 2000, the Janashree Bima Yojana is a scheme that provides a life insurance cover to members of 45 occupational groups who are aged between 18 and 59 years. From January 1, 2013, this scheme has been merged with the AABY scheme.

  • Rashtriya Swasthya Bima Yojana (RSBY)

    The RSBY is a health insurance scheme launched to provide coverage for families who fall below the poverty line. The eligible beneficiaries are provided with a hospitalisation cover of up to ₹30,000. This scheme does not have any age limit and it covers pre-existing diseases. The beneficiaries have to pay a nominal premium of ₹30 for this cover and the Central and State Governments pay the insurance premium.

  • Universal Health Insurance Scheme (UHIS)

    Universal Health Insurance Scheme (UHIS) is implemented and managed by four public sector general insurance companies. The main objective of this scheme is to provide health insurance coverage to poor families. Under this scheme, the beneficiaries are entitled to reimburse hospitalisation expenses up to ₹30,000 on a family floater basis. The scheme also provides an accidental death cover of ₹25,000 to the policyholder.

READ MORE: Other Government Health Insurance Schemes in India


Now that you have read about the National Health Insurance Scheme in India, it is evident that the Indian Government is tirelessly working towards developing such schemes to provide the best possible healthcare treatments to the poor sections of our country. However, if you are not eligible for any of the above schemes, it is essential that you secure yourself and your loved ones with adequate health insurance so that the expenses during a medical emergency do not drain your finances. Take a look at the health insurance policies available at Bajaj Markets that offer various benefits at affordable premiums.

Health Insurance Plans Available at Bajaj Markets


What is considered a partial disability under the Aam Aadmi Bima Yojana?

Under the AABY scheme, the loss of vision and limbs is considered a partial disability.  

When was the Ayushman Bharat scheme launched?

The Ayushman Bharat health insurance scheme was launched in September 2018.

What is the age limit to add children to the RSBY beneficiary list?

There is no age limit for children to be added to the RSBY beneficiary list.

What is a pre-existing disease?

Pre-existing diseases refer to any health condition that you have been diagnosed with and/or are availing treatment for before purchasing the health insurance policy.

Do I need to pay for healthcare services at empanelled Ayushman Bharat hospitals?

No. You can avail the benefits of the Ayushman Bharat scheme free of cost at an empanelled hospital if you are a beneficiary of the scheme.

Loan Offer
Download App
Credit Score